It seems developer Team Ninja, will look to move on from their punishing, action RPG series Nioh, in 2021.

In an interview with Famitsu, Nioh and Nioh 2 director, Fumihiko Yasuda, says, Team Ninja will not be working on a new entry in the franchise in 2021. Yasuda specifies that 2021 will be a ‘resting point’ for the series as the team shifts its focus to a number of other projects in the works.

Year of transition. At Team Ninja, the seven years-long development of Nioh series will reach a resting point, and there are several projects that will begin full-scale development in 2021. I plan to change my development style to match my changing lifestyle and concentrate on new titles. As for me personally, I’ll try not to gain any more weight.

This will definitely come as a bit of a disappointment for many fans, myself included, but regardless, seeing the Nioh team move on to a new project is an enticing prospect within itself. Nioh 2, specifically, has been responsible for many hair pulling and controller throwing moments this year for me but it’s also given me some of the most accomplished and confidence inducing moments of my gaming life.

If 2021 truly marks the end of the series, it will be sorely missed.

Nioh 2 launched on March 12th, 2020 and released to both critical and commercial acclaim, reaching a sales milestone of 1 million copies sold in May. Nioh 2 The Complete Edition, prepares its launch in 2021, on both PlayStation 5 and Steam.